Mr. Divine Kporha, a 2018 alumnus of the University of Health and Allied Sciences’ Bachelor of Nursing programme, has been honoured with the 2019 Diana Award “for selflessly transforming the lives of others and going above and beyond to create and sustain positive change".

The former federal president of UHAS Students’ Representative Council was among three young Ghanaians who were recognized for having contributed significantly to the socio-economic wellbeing of the underprivileged in their various communities.

In a congratulatory statement, the Chief Executive of The Diana Award, Ms. Tessy Ojo described all the new International Diana Award holders as “change makers for their generation.” She said, “We know, by receiving this honor, they will inspire more young people to get involved in their communities and begin their own journey as active citizens.”

Mr. Kporha later presented his award to the Vice Chancellor of UHAS, Professor John Owusu Gyapong, in appreciation of the V.C.’s immense contribution to his career. He explained, “The support from the V.C., coupled with the university’s structure and vocational training, gave me all the exposure I needed to explore my passion.”

Professor Gyapong applauded him for all his volunteerism and humanitarian work with rural communities in Ghana, and advised him to stay focused in his drive to serve humanity, adding, “Touching human lives should be paramount to us wherever we find ourselves.” Divine, who is founding president of the Mental Health and Wellbeing Foundation, is also the 2018 recipient of the Kofi Annan Youth Inspirational Award, and the Professor Fred Binka 2018 Prize for the Best Graduating Student Dedicated to Community Service — among his achievements .

The Diana Award is the only charity set up in memory of Diana, Princess of Wales and her belief that young people have the power to change the world. Its mission is to foster, develop and inspire positive change in the lives of young people. Established in 1999, the charity has the support of Princess Diana’s two sons, Prince William, Duke of Cambridge and Prince Harry, Duke of Sussex.