ubsanniv 1
Story by Grace Adegbedzi, Photos by Sarah Asare-Dompreh, Directorate of Public Affairs.

The UHAS Basic School, which was established and opened on 26th January 2021, celebrated its First Anniversary and Awards day on Saturday 26th February 2022 under the theme “Learning Today, Leading Tomorrow”.

The Chairperson of the Basic School Board, Professor Theophilus C. Fleischer (in photos two and four above), expressed his excitement at the successes chalked by the young school in just 13 months of operation. He said, “As the years roll on, we will see great things happening.”

Boys’ Prefect William Azanu, who read a speech on behalf of his colleague learners, expressed his appreciation to UHAS Management for their commitment in establishing a basic school for the children of UHAS staff as well as the community. He said, “As young as this institution is, it can boost of so many achievements which include the Junior Broadcaster’s Club, Science and Mathematics Club, Robotics Club, among others.” These clubs unearth the hidden potentials and talents in the learners, which make them stand out among their peers. Added, “We are privileged to have professionally trained teachers who are up to the task and this gives us hope that our first results will be good.”

ubsanniv 2
VC Prof. Gyapong, assisted by Basic School Chair Prof. Fleischer, Senior Architect Mrs. Ayittey and other officials commissioned the Basic School.

Vice Chancellor Professor John O. Gyapong, who delivered the keynote address, said UHAS had to respond to the call from its staff to establish a basic school as in other universities because “an educated population is an important tool in nation building; and if we will have any economic impact, then we need to ensure that the next generation receives an excellent education.” At the end of his speech, he singled out for appreciation the Registrar Dr. Sena Kpeglo; Senior Architect Ruth Xola Ayittey; the Directorate of Works and Physical Development led by Dr. William Vidogah; and the Basic School Board led by Professor Theophilus C. Fleischer for the roles they played in the establishment of UBS.

ubsanniv 3

As a highlight to the [email protected] celebration, awards were presented to learners for excellence in academics, discipline, and progress in the 2021 academic year. Also, there was a presentation to Makayla, Manuel and Mavella Atuwo-Ampoh from Perbi Cubs Library Services for their outstanding performance during a series of reading competitions. Perbi Cubs is an electronic library system for children from the age of six to have access to leisure reading, also known as recreational, pleasure, free and independent reading. These learners from the Basic School also represented UBS as they took part in these reading competitions and won two trophies for UBS. Mr. Seth Korgah, Head Teacher of UBS, received these awards and expressed the school’s appreciation to Perbi Cubs.

ubsanniv 4

Activities that constituted the week-long celebration of [email protected] included a clean-up exercise, a special open day, a thanksgiving service, an excursion to Tema Harbour, and UBS-Got-Talent competition.

» View the photo album