A report from the Directorate of Public Affairs, UHAS.

The UHAS Governing Council, at its 25th meeting on 15 April 2021, approved a proposal from the Academic Board to name several facilities of the University in honour of the University’s founders. Vice Chancellor John Gyapong detailed the first set of honours in his report delivered during the Second Session of the 6th Congregation, on 9 April 2022 at the Main Campus:

The Professor Kofi Anyidoho Auditorium: Professor Kofi Anyidoho was the Chairman of the Interim Governing Council of the University at its inception in 2011 and was subsequently confirmed as the Chairman and served in that capacity until 2017. For providing the needed leadership for the Governing Council in the establishment of the University, the Auditorium located on the Trafalgar Campus has been named “Professor Kofi Anyidoho Auditorium”.


The Professor Fred Newton Binka School of Public Health: Professor Fred Newton Binka was the foundation Vice Chancellor of the University. As Chief Executive Officer, he executed his mandate during the most difficult phase of the University. He worked closely with the Governing Council to implement the development of the incubation facilities at Trafalgar, Hohoe and the Main Campus at Sokode. Five Schools, namely, Allied Health Sciences, Basic and Biomedical Sciences, Nursing and Midwifery, Medicine, and Public Health were established during his tenure. Since his retirement, he has spent his time nurturing the establishment of graduate programmes at the School of Public Health. For this and many other contributions, the School of Public Health has been renamed the “Professor Fred Newton Binka School of Public Health”.

The Asogli Hall of Residence: The University of Health and Allied Sciences began with the support of the Chiefs and people of the Asogli State. The incubation facilities were built on the Trafalgar Campus (located on Asogli land). In recognition of this critical support, the new students’ accommodation on the Trafalgar Campus has been christened “Asogli Hall of Residence”. The four blocks of the facility have been named Ahoe, Bankoe, Dome, and Heve, to represent some of the Divisions of the State.

The delegation from Asogli State was led by Togbe kotoku XI, Paramount Chief of Kpenoe Traditional Area. Photos courtesy of Asogli State.

The Sokode Hall of Residence: The main campus of the University of Health and Allied Sciences is situated on a 702 acre parcel of land acquired by the Government of Ghana from the Chiefs and people of Sokode. Over the years, UHAS has lived in peace and harmony with the surrounding community, and community leaders participate in all our functions when invited. In recognition of their collaboration and cooperation, the new students’ accommodation on the main campus at Sokode has been named “Sokode Hall of Residence”. The four blocks of the facility will be named Bagble, Etoe, Gbogame, and Lokoe, representing some of the towns in the Sokode traditional area.